Esther Summary

The Book of Esther, a book of the Christian Old Testament, is set in the third year of Xerxes, a king of Persia (also known as Artaxerxes II). The Book of Esther can be divided into three main sections. Chapters 1:1-2:18 – Esther replaces Vashti; 2:19-7:10 – Mordecai overcomes Haman; 8:1-10:3 – Israel survives Haman’s attempt to destroy them. The Book of Esther tells a story of conspiracy and genocide that was eventually thwarted by a Jewish queen of Persia.

Esther was a Jewish woman who was selected by the king to replace his queen. She was brave and good - the noble Esther even risked her own death when she defended Israel against Haman.

She did it willingly, even though it was very dangerous for her to oppose the second-in-command of her husband‘s kingdom. She proved a wise and most worthy opponent, all the while remaining humble and respectful of the position of her husband-king. The Book of Esther shows the choice we make between seeing the hand of God in our circumstances in life and seeing things as merely coincidence – she saw the hand of God and knew what choices to make, even though it was difficult for her.

To read about Esther, please browse the chapters below.

Chapters in Esther

Bible Search:
Powered by Bible Study Tools