Forget and Not Slow Down

Forget and Not Slow Down


Matt Thiessen isolated himself in the remote town of Winchester, Tennessee for three months to write these tunes, but don’t expect one of those sad-guy-weeping-into-an-acoustic-guitar albums. The title track opens explosively, countering deep introspective lyrics with up-tempo power-pop that pedals fast toward the light at the end of the tunnel. (Tim Skipper from House of Heroes provides a mellow backing vocal). “I Don’t Need a Soul” is another standout with its unpredictable structure, clever use of piano, glass-half-full lyrics and contagious melodies. Forget and Not Slow Down marks Relient k’s sixth studio outing, but it’s their first since the 2007 departure of drummer Dave Douglas. (Ethan Luck of the O. C. Supertones is his replacement). Thiessen also chose to give Forget and Not Slow Down an organic and natural sound. Choosing not to record this time with MIDI or synthesizers, he's stated that he wanted to reflect the “classic” ‘90s sonicity of a Counting Crows or Foo Fighters album. “Therapy” boasts some arpeggio picking that’s as dexterous as it is catchy but “(If You Want It)” showcases Thiessen’s best lyrical work.

Album Tracks

Song Title Length
Oasis 0:40
Savannah 4:16
Baby 0:46
If You Believe Me 3:20
This Is the End 2:16
(If You Want It) 3:18
Webisode 1 2:50
Webisode 2 4:43
Webisode 3 3:12
Webisode 4 2:56
Forget and Not Slow Down 3:22
I Don't Need a Soul 3:51
Candlelight 3:21
Flare 0:59
Part of It 3:20
Outro 1:34
Therapy 3:43
Over It 3:53
Sahara 3:48

Switchfoot Albums

Please add a name and description in order to save your playlist to your user profile.

Name: Description: Public:
No playlists found for this account.