Hymns and Sacred Songs

Hymns and Sacred Songs

Destroy the Runner

Since her late-‘90s success with Sixpence None the Richer, Leigh Nash has oscillated between secular tunes and Christian songs, sometimes blending the two. Hymns and Sacred Songs is exclusively spiritual, yet it possesses the beguiling charm of her mainstream folk-pop hits. Here she interprets traditional material (along with a few contemporary compositions) with a wide-eyed reverence that makes them sound fresh. Her new settings for the hymns “Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing” and “Oh Heart Bereaved and Lonely” aren’t so different from the atmospheric acoustic sounds of her Sixpence hits. Nash sings more recently composed tunes like “Power of the Cross” and “Song of Moses” in much the same spirit, giving their triumphant message of salvation a warmly yearning feel. Produced by John Hartley, the album is filled with small but lovely touches, like the stark banjo on “Be Still My Soul” and the fingersnapping percussion on “Come Ye Thankful People.” Beautifully sung and arranged, Hymns and Sacred Songs testifies to Nash’s faith and artistry.

Album Tracks

Song Title Length
Song of Moses 0:00
Praise the Lord Who Reigns Above 0:00
Be Still My Soul 0:00
Savior, Like a Shepherd Lead Us (Blessed Jesus) 0:00
Come Thou Fount of Every Blessing 0:00
Isaiah 55 0:00
Oh Heart Bereaved and Lonely 0:00
Power of the Cross 0:00
Give Myself to You 0:00
Come Ye Thankful People Come 0:00
Blessed Redeemer 0:00
Out of My Bondage 0:00

Destroy the Runner Albums

Please add a name and description in order to save your playlist to your user profile.

Name: Description: Public:
No playlists found for this account.